Charity Afghan

My bestie and I joined a local knit/crochet group and for the holiday project we have been asked to make some 6×6 squares for a giant afghan to be given to charity (not yet decided). They are hoping for 60 squares! So, to do my part, I have made 3 so far and I really like the way they turned out.

The first 2 are Fisherman’s Squares. The pattern I found from Priscilla’s Crochet website. I love the way the cables pop out and I am seriously considering making a blanket with these. The original pattern only uses one colour but I got daring and inserted the white in the 2nd square. The pattern uses a G hook and I used medium worsted teal/white yarn scraps I had.

The 3rd square from the same designer is called Antique Pearls and this pattern was a bit of a fight. I am showing you what I think is the “right” side, comparing it to the photo. The square looks lovely on either side but the ‘pearls’ really jump on this side. This pattern also uses a G hook and I once again used medium worsted scraps.

For my last square I am on the hunt for another 3D square, stay tuned! Also, stay tuned for the other members’ squares, I bet they will be exquisite!

3 Comments

Filed under Crocheting

3 responses to “Charity Afghan

  1. Ok seriously you are amazing!!!! I can’t believe you are making this stuff all by yourself. 😛 I really love the all teal square and agree it would look fantastic if you made a bunch and turned it into a blanket! 🙂

  2. These are gorgeous! Wow, so much detail. You work at the speed of light!

Leave a Reply

