Blog Week, Post 1

2 posts in 1 day!! Lol…

So I was perusing the net this morning and came across this and decided to give it a whirl. Here goes,

There will be 7 posts, with specific topics that I will give my 2 cents about, enjoy


Day 1: A Tale of 2 Yarns

“Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.”

To be honest, I haven’t tried much yarn other than what the big box stores sell, I simply cannot justify spending over $10 on a single skein of yarn, especially when most of the projects I make are given away, or are amigurumi, granny squares or something like that. That being said, I am going to speak in general yarn terms, from personal experience.

First, wool yarn, or wool blends. I have never been a fan of wool, I find it itchy and uncomfortable. When filling out swap information I always take the time to mention my dislike of it. There are, of course, wonderfully soft wools that are delicious, however expensive, out of my comfort zone for sure. If I ever start to make special things that fit close to the body and need to be soft and luxurious I will make the investment, but for now I steer clear of itchy wool.

Second, acrylic (and/or blends). This is the yarn I use the most. It comes in a range of weights and textures and I usually find what I need. Acrylics are inexpensive and offer a wide range of colours and densities. I usually stick with worsted weights, although the satins and sports work well also. I have not met a project that acrylic does not work for (except dishcloths) and I happy sticking with it for now 🙂

There we go, Day 1 complete!! Feel free to leave me your 2 cents in the comment section, xo

4 Comments

Filed under Crocheting

4 responses to “Blog Week, Post 1

  1. Good post. I, also, love the qualities of a good acrylic yarn.

  2. Great post! It’s all about choosing the right type of yarn for the projects on your hooks. There are definitely wools that aren’t too itchy and a lot of them soften up after a good wash. I like the springy bounce of Paton’s 100% Wool, which is good for hats and such.

Leave a Reply

