Blog Week, Post 2

Day 2: Skill + 1UP
“Look back over your last year of projects and compare where you are in terms of skill and knowledge of your craft to this time last year. Have you learned any new skills or forms of knitting/crochet (can you crochet cable stitches now where you didn’t even know such things existed last year? Have you recently put a foot in the tiled world of entrelac? Had you even picked up a pair of needles or crochet hook this time last year?”

I love the title of today’s topic 🙂 This is an easy one for me talk about because the last sentence speaks directly to me. I did not start crocheting until late July of last year, or maybe even early August. I was bored at work and decided I wanted to learn. I watched a couple videos (on mute too!) and thought to myself, “yup I can do that”, later that evening I went to Michaels, bought a hook and a ball of cheap cotton yarn and went to town. I credit “Art of Crochet by Teresa” with teaching me how. She has great videos that can teach even me!

Once I felt I had the hang of it and could chain, sc, dc confidently I decided to start my first project, and boy did I decide to test myself.

This was a free pattern I found at Michaels, it said beginner so I went for it. It only took a couple months, lol. The worst part was sewing it all together, I credit my Godmother and bestie for helping me with that. Considering it’s the biggest thing I’ve ever made, I still love it. It’s very me and I will cherish it forever.

There isn’t much I feel I can’t do crochet-wise, it’s just a matter of time before I get the nerve to try it. I have made granny squares, dishcloths, afghans, amigurumis, coasters, cozies, hook holders etc and it hasn’t even been a year. That’s my deal though, I get into something and I go head first hardcore until I burn out. Hopefully I don’t get there too soon.

The thing that keeps me going is how surprised people are when they see something homemade. When Shannon opened her birthday coasters her comment was “wow you are so pro now!” Thanks Shan!! 🙂

It also really helps that my bestie knits and crochets as well, she asked me to teach her (thankfully she’s a heck of a student) and has been learning with me since then. Really it’s to her credit that I can read a pattern. Also, her work is so beautiful that I’m glad she doesn’t blog or else no one would read mine.

Thanks for reading Day 2, stay tuned for tomorrow, XO

6 Comments

Filed under Crocheting

6 responses to “Blog Week, Post 2

  1. AC

    Looks like a super comfy blanket! That’s a major project.

  2. For someone who is new to the craft, it looks like you’re doing a great job. I am very new, too. Some people like to stick to one area of a craft, but I am like you, I like to experiment with making all sorts of things. I feel there is no limit, and I want to try it all!

  3. I completely agree! Thanks for stopping by, xo

  4. That blanket was the first thing you crocheted? That’s awesome! the first blanket I ever crocheted was a basic granny square!

Leave a Reply

