Blog Week, Post 6

Day 6: WILDCARD – Embellish the Story

“Embellishments come in all types and forms. Some are more than purely decorative and form a practical function – pretty buttons are as much part of holding a garment together as mere decoration, and some are just there to give a piece an extra ‘something’. Blog about an embellishment, be it a zipper, amigurumi eyes or applique patch which you are either saving to use or have in the past used to decorate a project with. Write about whether you are a very  minimalist kind of knitter with classic lines and timeless plain knits or whether you love all the bells and whistles or sticking sewing and otherwise attaching decoration to your pieces.”

I am throwing down the wildcard today. I was hoping not to have to, but today’s topic is too far-thinking for me right now. Instead, I’ll discuss embellishments, and how much I adore them.

Not.

Ok, ok, I think they are wonderful, my scrapbooking collection is full of buttons, brads, ribbons and other wonderful goodies, and I use them, I really do! But I am quite a minimalist when it comes to embellishing my crochet projects. I just don’t, or very very very rarely. I have an example.

These knuckle warmers I made for work. My fingers get cold but my thumbs feel encumbered with normal ‘hobo’ style mitts and I made these. And posted about them. I even asked for suggestions on how to embellish them. That was… a while ago. They look exactly the same. They work great, I just haven’t done anything to them. I get comments on them too. Hmph.

Another example you say? Ok, I took a book out from the library called Crobots. ZOMG they are so cute. I really wanted to make them. But something held me back. Look at all the bits and bobs!! Are you kidding me? First, where would I find all of that stuff? And I hate sewing fidgety things on… Dilemma. I still want one. Internal struggle, *thumbs down

Sigh. What’s a girl to do?

4 Comments

Filed under Crocheting

4 responses to “Blog Week, Post 6

  1. Those knuckle warmers are so cuuuuuute! And what a great idea. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like them before.

    I’m with you on the minimalism, except when I’m not. Once in a very great while I get the urge to go crazy–bobbles, ruffles, eyelets–that sort of thing. But it doesn’t happen very often.

    • I was so thankful I found the pattern on Rav, they are perfect for what I need them to do 🙂
      Yeah I’m sure I’ll go on a crazy splurge on something I feel really strongly about, it just hasn’t happened yet. Thanks for stopping by!!

  2. I feel the same way about sewing fiddly bits, but now I think I might have to get over it so I can make myself a crobot, ’cause those are seriously adorable.

Leave a Reply

