Blog Week, Post 7

Day 7: Your Crochet Time

“Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of crocheter.”

This is very typical of me. I am snuggled into the couch, the tv is on, I have food and/or water nearby and my computer. I’ve got some notions at my feet and the option of natural light from the big window or the lamp to my right. I usually crochet in the afternoons/evenings, I am more of a night owl, and I usually work during the day. Sometimes my BF is beside me (either he’s watching the hockey game or he’s reading his book. Sometimes my bestie is with me and we’re having a girls night (we need to do that again soon!) and we both have a project in hand, and something good is on tv. And there may or may not be some wine 🙂

I don’t have pics  but I also crochet in another tv area in the house, which is much more cluttered and slightly less comfortable. I also take my projects to my BFs house, although the cat is there and she is too cute to ignore 🙂 I have also been to a couple Knit/Crochet group meetings in my ‘hood. It’s always fun to meet new people and see what they’re up too.

This is the last post for the Knot/Crochet Blog Week Extravaganza. I want to extend my sincerest gratitude to Eskimimi Knits for putting this together and to everyone who has stopped by and upped my traffic considerably. Most of all I have enjoyed seeing new blogs and making new friends, XO.

10 Comments

Filed under Crocheting

10 responses to “Blog Week, Post 7

  1. Enjoyed meeting you too! Love that blanket you are crocheting in the photo.

  2. I often have my lappie within arms reach with multiple browsers open (FB almost always) a water bottle & occasionally edibles. I’m not a neat freak so fear of crumbs wouldn’t prevent me from noshing. I often crochet lounging while watching a movie w/dh. Even cable can be boring although there are those rare good movies that I must lay my project aside. I have tried to work on projects while traveling or on a long road trip but my mind can’t seem to get into that zone I need to enjoy it…too many distractions.
    Every Friday my Stitch & Bitch get together @ Panera and spend a few good hours entangled in yarn and chatting it up.

    • Yes, I too have food nearby 🙂 I always have some kind of noise in the background but it’s always something I don’t need to give my 100% focus too. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Jen

    TV & yarn are a natural combo. 🙂

  4. Smart idea to put your feet up. I need to use our ottoman more as sometimes my foot falls asleep or I get a cramp in my leg from criss cross applesaucing the whole time.

    • I have this chronic condition where my feet seem to always want to be up, lol it drives my mother crazy. I am so lucky we have that ottoman that flips from a table on 1 side to a squishy foot rest on the other.

  5. I don’t know how people were able to knit without TV. Do you have a favorite show to knit/ crochet by?

Leave a Reply

