O is for…

Om.

I have found that I can get stressed out easily, and need activities to keep me relaxed and calm. While laying on the couch watching TV and eating popcorn is an easy way to be calm, it’s not very healthy. That’s why I absolutely love to do yoga. I fell head over heels for it a few years ago and haven’t stopped. I love that it can be challenging and calming at the same time. I love that it’s personal but connected to others.

There a million and 1 different poses and each have their allure. Some are balance oriented (like dancer, on the right), others are stretch oriented. I love the feeling after a class of being sweaty but calm-minded, it makes for a great day!

What does this have to do with crochet, you ask? Well, a lot of the appeal of yoga can also be found in crochet. It can be challenging but calming, it can be done anywhere, it’s personal yet very connected to others. 

So there is my ABCs for this week, check out the others here, XO.

10 Comments

Filed under Crocheting, Uncategorized

10 responses to “O is for…

  1. I used to do yoga before work (before I got too attached to sleeping in for as long as possible!) and I should get back to it – I really noticed that I was more awake and relaxed at the same time, definitely more alert at work too!

    • I always have a hard time getting up in the morning but I find when I do I so much more done, plus I sleep better at night, it’s always a win-win! What kind of yoga do you like Natalie?

  2. Great choice for an O word! I definitely think there are some terrific similarities between yoga and crochet.

  3. Julie

    I haven’t quite got into the yoga thing, but feel I probably should. Everyone I have met who has done it for some time has such suppleness and grace. You are very disciplined to have kept it up.

  4. I tried yoga once. The instructor was the most mellow person I have ever met. I think I might have to give it a go once again.

    • For me it’s definitely the teacher that makes the class. If I connect to the teacher, the class is good, or even great, if I don’t connect with the teacher, I don’t get the full benefits of the class. I encourage to try different teachers until you find one who really works for you 🙂

  5. Yoga looks so cool! That’s a great idea for O. I’m always busy or stressing about something, and yoga seems like it would really help, but it’s just another thing I’d have to squeeze into my already-too-full schedule. So, no yoga for me!

Leave a Reply

