Q is for…

QUINOA!

Hey all, hope you’ve been well, I still have not got my crojo back but September is soon upon us which means the start of new swaps. 3 so far 🙂 

Anyways, onto this week’s ABCs. I love love love quinoa (keen-wah). It’s a seed and it’s yummy! High in protein, it has a really cool texture and takes no time to cook. It’s so versatile too. I usually have it as a side, or in a salad, but it can be used to make pudding or hot cereal or to crust meat, et cetera, et cetera!! 

When I discovered it, it was still not mainstream, I introduced it to my family and BF and now they love it too! On top of it, quinoa has exploded as a new popular food and can be found everywhere. Here is my favourite way to have it:

Roasted Vegetable Quinoa Salad

1 cup dry quinoa

2 cups water

Combine the above, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit for 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.

1 zucchini

2 bell peppers (any colour)

1 red onion

Chop the above into bit size pieces, place on a baking sheet, drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper, and roast in a 375 F degree oven until vegetables are browned (~10 minutes). Feel free to cut into larger pieces and BBQ instead.

Combine cooked quinoa and vegetables in bowl. You can either dress it with lemon juice and oil, or balsamic vinegar and oil, any combo that you like or even your favourite store brand salad dressing. Feel free to add fresh basil, cilantro or parsley, salt and pepper to taste, and maybe some dried cranberries, feta or bocconcinni cheese, pumpkin seeds, orange segments, use your imagination!

Have a great day, XO!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Q is for…

  1. Thanks for that, I’ve never had quinoa before. I may have to give it a try

  2. I haven’t tried this either. This recipe does sound rather yummy. I may give it a go.

Leave a Reply

